Take a moment and nominate

Published on 25 October 2021

Australia Day in Cowra 2021

Alongside the inevitable challenges of 2021, we've seen countless examples of people stepping up to lend a hand when our community needed it the most.

With the opening of the 2022 Cowra Shire Australia Day Awards, Co-Chairs of Cowra's Australia Day Committee, Councillor Ray Walsh and Councillor Bruce Miller, believe now is the perfect time to recognise our quiet achievers.

"We know most people don't like to make a fuss about the effort and time they invest in helping out in our community, but a little recognition through an Australia Day Award nomination is a well-deserved 'pat on the back' for these volunteers," Cr Walsh said.

"I really think the old adage of 'the worst of circumstances can bring out the best in people' has held true for our community this year, especially during the last two months. We hope people will take the time to nominate someone that's shown us their best," Cr Walsh added.

Award nominations are being accepted in four categories including: Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Community Group of the Year and the Dr Warren Whiley Memorial Award for Arts, Culture and Citizenship.

Past Award winners come from across the breadth of the Cowra Shire and represent many different interests and levels of community involvement.

Full Award guidelines and nomination forms are available here or at Council's Customer Service Centre. The closing date for nominations is 4.30pm Monday 6 December 2021.