Water restrictions

Communities in NSW's Central West get their water from a variety of sources. In the Cowra Shire, WaterNSW manages Wyangala Dam and its releases into the Lachlan River. The current allocation for Cowra, set by WaterNSW, remains at 100 per cent. Council maintains a vigilant watch on the dam level and responds to the monthly water allocation statements issued by WaterNSW. 

The only village in the Cowra Shire that is currently on water restrictions is Gooloogong, which receives its water from Central Tablelands Water (CTW) via Lake Rowlands. Following notification from CTW, Council resolved at their June 2019 meeting to impose CTW level 3 water restrictions on water consumers in the Gooloogong area.

"Council will act immediately when we have information from WaterNSW regarding how much water we are going to get, and will implement restrictions accordingly. WaterNSW are the authority, and they own the water," said Mayor of Cowra, Cr Bill West.

"We will continue to monitor levels very closely and will certainly act immediately when needed," Cr West said.